A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas {Book Review}

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 5 out of 5.

PUBLISHED: May 2016 ♣ PAGES: 626 ♣ GENRE: Fantasy Fiction, Fae ♣

A Court of Mist and Fury is the second instalment of the well-known A Court of Thorns and Roses series, this book will leave you wanting more. This is an ‘I dream of these places‘, ‘I love book boyfriends‘ and ‘scream and throw the book‘ kind of read.

Feyre’s journey continues after she survived Under The Mountain. After becoming a Fae, Feyre discovers new challenges and differences in her immortal body. Suffering from nightmares and being haunted by Amarantha, Feyre struggles to find her feet in the Spring Court. Everyone is shadowed by the looming war and preparations are being made.

I don’t want to elaborate, because I might mention something that’s a spoiler and we definitely want to avoid any spoilers when it comes to ACOMAF. I will say that Rhysand plays a huge role in Feyre’s life and the bond between them comes in handy. I’m disappointed in Tamlin, I never expected his behaviour to change like that but Rhysand makes up for that disappointment. Not all the good guys are the good guys, looks can be deceiving.

I love Rhys’s Inner Circle and Mor is definitely one of my favourite female characters. I like that Feyre’s sisters, Nesta and Elain, are part of the story, though Nesta is still cold towards Feyre; keeping in mind everything Feyre went through to protect her sisters. Feyre and Nesta don’t share a sisterly bond at all. The world-building is phenomenal and I’m left with wanderlust. Velaris is a beautiful place, even though it only exists between the pages of a book, I wish it really existed.

To Velaris – the City of Starlight.

Rhysand

This book is well-written and does contain some mature scenes which are not suitable for younger readers. I feel that this book wrecked me, I was SHOCKED at the ending, talk about a cliffhanger! The reader is in for a treat. There are many surprises along the way and even though this book has more than 600 pages, there is NEVER a dull moment. You have to read this book for yourself to experience all the feels, a review isn’t enough to try and explain.

I’m really looking forward to reading A Court of Wings and Ruin, I have to find out what happens next! If there’s only one series you read this year, it has to be this one. You will not be disappointed. You’ll be taken on a thrilling adventure; visiting the most beautiful places, you’ll fly and winnow, you’ll fall in love and out of love, and even though it’s messy, it’s still beautiful.

There are good days and hard days for me – even now. Don’t let the hard days win.

Morrigan

The beautiful Feysand candle is by Wick and Fandom. The characters cards are based on the Men of the Inner Circle and were included in a limited edition box by Wax Poetics, illustrated by LaLa Illustrations.

Fans of Shadow and Bone or The Blood and Ash series will love this.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sarah J. Maas is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Crescent City,Throne of Glass, and Court of Thorns and Roses series, as well as a #1 USA Today and international bestselling author. Her books have sold millions of copies,  and are published in thirty-seven languages . A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, son, and dog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s